Home >

Types of IP

>

Patents

>

Obtaining a patent in other places

Obtaining a patent in other places

Types of IP

Obtaining a patent in other places


There is no such thing as a ‘worldwide’ patent given that patent protection is territorial in nature.  In this connection, each country or jurisdiction will independently assess and decide whether it will grant a patent in accordance with its own national patent laws.

In other words, a patent granted in Hong Kong does not have any legal effect in the Mainland China, nor elsewhere in the world.  Similarly, a patent granted in the Mainland China, or elsewhere in the world, does not have any legal effect in Hong Kong.

You therefore need to consider applying for a patent in each of those countries where you anticipate manufacturing, selling, exporting or otherwise commercially exploiting (such as by licensing) your patented product or process.

There are two basic ways of applying for a patent in multiple countries:

  1. You may file a separate national application in each country where you elect to seek patent protection (by national route).

You might do this where you decide to apply for patents in a small number of countries only.

In particular, you will have to do this in relation to patents that you seek in countries that are not members to the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) (e.g. some South American, African, and Middle Eastern countries) – see point 2 below.

  1. You may file an application under the PCT (by international route).

While the filing of a PCT application is sometimes perceived as a means of acquiring a “worldwide” patent grant, it should be noted that such filing is essentially a means of streamlining the patent application process when you want to apply for national patents in multiple countries being the PCT contracting states.

The filing of a PCT application enables you to apply for patent grants in PCT member countries at the same time with far less expense thereby dispensing with the need for making a separate national application in each individual country.

You however need to decide at a later stage of your PCT application which PCT member countries you wish to pursue your patent application in by requesting your PCT application to enter into the national phase.  If you make a PCT application designating China, you can elect to seek standard or short-term patent protection in Hong Kong after the PCT application has entered its national phase in China.

主页 >

知识产权类别

>

专利

>

在其他地方取得专利

在其他地方取得专利

知识产权类别

在其他地方取得专利


由于专利保护在本质上受地域所限,故没有“全球”专利这回事。因此,每个国家或司法管辖区均会根据各自的专利法,独立评估和决定是否批予专利。
换言之,香港批予的专利,不论在内地还是世界其他地方均无法律效力。同样,内地或世界其他地方批予的专利,在香港也无法律效力。

因此,如你计划将你的专利产品或方法在不同国家生产、销售、作商业使用(例如藉授予特许),或输出往这些国家,你便须考虑在这些国家逐一申请专利。
向多个国家申请专利的两个基本方法:

1.   可向拟申请专利保护的国家逐一提交国家申请(循国家途径)。

      若决定只向少数国家申请专利,可採用这个方法。

     如拟向并非《专利合作条约》(见下文第2点)成员(例如部分南美、非洲及中东国家)的国家申请专利,更须採用这个方法。

2.  可根据《专利合作条约》(以下简称“条约”)提交申请(循国际途径)。

     虽然根据条约所提交申请有时会被视为申请“全球”专利的方法,但须注意的是,提出这项申请基本上是简化向多个条约缔约国循国家途径申请专利的程序。

     根据条约提交申请,让你可在同一时间向多个条约缔约国申请专利,费用也大减;这样,你便无须向有关缔约国循国家途径逐一提出专利申请。

     不过,在根据条约提交申请的稍后阶段,你便须决定欲向哪些条约缔约国申请专利而提出要求该项申请进入国家阶段。若循国际途径根据条约提出的专利申请中指定中国,便可选择在该项申请进入中国的国家阶段后,在香港申请标淮专利或短期专利的保护。