Home >

Setting up IP businesses

>

>

Registering a company

Setting up IP businesses

Registering a company


The first step in registering a new company is deciding whether the company will be:

  1. Limited by shares, where the company will issue shares to its shareholders, and the liability of its shareholders will be limited to the unpaid subscription price for the shares, or will be nothing if the subscription price for the shares has been paid in full.

This is the type of company that is most suitable for a company that carries on a business for profit making purposes.

  1. Limited by guarantee, where the company will not have shares, nor shareholders, but instead will have members, and the liability of its members will be limited to the amount of the guarantee that each member has agreed to pay in the event of the company’s insolvency and having insufficient assets to pay all of its debts.

This is the type of company that is most suitable for nonprofit activities, such as operating a nonprofit research institute. It is not a suitable structure for a business undertaken for profit making purposes.

The second step is to choose a name for the company.

A company’s name may be in:

  • Chinese only;
  • English only; or
  • bilingual (both in Chinese and English).

A company’s name must not be the same as the name of an existing company, nor a name which in the opinion of the Registrar of Companies is offensive, illegal, or contrary to public interest.

In choosing a company name, it is desirable to search other company names through the Companies Registry’s Cyber Search Centre or Company Search Mobile Service, trade marks and domain names to ensure that the name that you select is available, and will not be the same as or likely to be confused with another person’s business name, company name, registered trade mark, or domain name.

This is particularly important if you intend to implement a branding strategy for distinguishing your brand from other existing business names, company names, trade marks or domain names.

Registering a company name does not guarantee that another person’s registered trade mark will not be infringed, particularly when the company name is the same as or confusingly similar to the registered trade mark, and the goods or services offered by the company are also the same or similar to those under the registered trade mark.  It is therefore very important to do prior searches, including a trade mark search.

Registering a company name does not confer the right to use the same name as a business name, trade mark, or domain name. Each of these that may be sought needs to be registered separately, with separate offices. Click on the following to find out more about registering each respectively: business name ; trade mark; domain name.

The third step is to lodge the required application and other prescribed forms with the Companies Registry, and pay the applicable fees.

This can done online or by lodging the required application documents at the Companies Registry.

If one seeks to register a company and a business at the same time, this can be done on the same application form.

After the company is duly registered, a Certificate of Incorporation will be issued.

在港设立知识产权业务

公司注册


申请新公司注册,第一步是决定这家公司是否:

  1. 股份有限公司。这类公司会向股东发行股份,而股东的法律责任仅限于股份认购价的未缴部分;股东如已全数缴付股份认购价,则全无责任。

公司如以牟利为目的经营业务,最适合以这类公司注册。

  1. 担保有限公司。这类公司既没有股份,亦没有股东,但有成员,而成员的责任以各人同意在公司无力偿债及资产不足以清还所有债项时所支付的担保款额为限。

公司如从事非牟利活动,例如经营一所非牟利研究中心,最适合以这类公司注册。这种结构不适合以牟利为目的的业务。

第二步是为公司选择名称。

公司的名称可以是:

  • 纯中文;
  • 纯英文;或
  • 双语(即中英文兼具)。

公司名称不得与现存公司的名称相同,亦不得是公司注册处处长认为属令人反感、非法或违反公众利益的名称。

在选择公司名称时,宜先通过公司注册处的网上查册中心公司查册流动版服务搜寻其他公司名称,以及搜寻商标域名,以确保所选的名称可供使用,不会与他人的业务名称、公司名称、注册商标或域名相同或易于令人混淆。

如打算採取品牌策略,使你的品牌有别于其他现有的业务名称、公司名称、商标或域名,则上述搜寻工作更形重要。

公司名称得以注册,并不保证不会侵犯他人的注册商标,尤以公司名称与注册商标相同或近似而令人混淆,以及该公司所提供的货品或服务亦与该注册商标所涵盖者相同或近似的情况为然。因此,事先进行搜寻(包括商标搜寻),十分重要。

公司名称得以注册,亦不赋予申请人使用同一名称作为业务名称、商标或域名的权利。如有意取得上述各项注册,须分别向不同办事处提出申请。如欲了解每项注册的资料,请按以下连结:

业务名称商标域名

第三步是向公司注册处提交所需申请及其他指定表格,并缴交申请费用。

申请可在网上提交,亦可通过向公司注册处递交所需申请文件予以办理。

如欲同时办理公司注册和商业登记,使用同一份申请表格即可。

公司妥为注册后,将获发公司注册证明书。