Home >

Why Hong Kong?

>

>

Sound legal framework

Why Hong Kong?

Sound legal framework


Hong Kong has a well-established legal system based upon the rule of law and the independence of judiciary. Being the only common law jurisdiction in China, Hong Kong has a sophisticated system of law making, legal protection and legal enforcement.

Hong Kong has a strong commercial and property law encompassing all aspects of IP protection, contract law, companies, finance, and competition regulation, in a manner that is familiar to those involved in international commercial transactions generally, and IP transactions in particular.

Hong Kong also has a reputable judiciary responsible for the administration of justice. It has established a sophisticated court system consisting of the courts of first instance, and appellate courts, with jurisdictions to hear and deal with all types of legal disputes.

Judges are independent of the executive branch, as well as independent of the legislative branch of Government, and are usually drawn from the experienced legal practitioners with good standing, particularly from the barristers branch of the legal profession, as well as overseas judges.

The highest local court is the Court of Final Appeal. Its system of permanent and non-permanent judges enable judges of the Court of Final Appeal to be drawn from experienced judges, retired or serving, in Hong Kong or other common law jurisdictions. The judiciary of Hong Kong enjoys a high reputation of its quality.

Under the Basic Law, Hong Kong enjoys a high degree of autonomy in external affairs. It may on its own, using the name "Hong Kong, China", maintain and develop relations and conclude and implement agreements with foreign states and regions and relevant international organisations in the appropriate fields, including the economic, trade, financial and monetary, shipping, communications, tourism, cultural and sports fields. Using the name “Hong Kong, China”, Hong Kong also participates on its own as a full member in international organisations and conferences not limited to states, e.g. the World Trade Organization, the World Customs Organization, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, etc.

As part of the delegation of the People’s Republic of China, representatives of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR participate in activities of the Hague Conference on Private International Law, as well as of other international organisations and conferences limited to states, such as the International Monetary Fund and the World Intellectual Property Organization.

主页 >

香港有什么优势?

>

>

健全的法律制度

香港有什么优势?

健全的法律制度


香港的法律制度完善,建基于法治及司法独立的精神。香港是中国境内唯一的普通法司法管辖区,拥有完备的立法、法律保护和执法制度。

香港订有严谨的商业法及财产法,涵盖知识产权保护、合约法、公司、财务及竞争法例的所有范畴;情况一般为参与国际商业交易的人士所熟悉,对参与知识产权交易的人士来说,更尤其熟悉。

香港亦有信誉良好的司法机构,负责司法事宜,同时设有完备的法庭运作制度,当中包括原讼法庭及上诉法庭;法庭各有司法管辖权,负责聆讯和处理各类法律纠纷。

法官独立于政府的行政和立法机关,通常由经验丰富和声誉良好的法律执业人士(特别是法律专业中大律师一系)及海外法官出任。

本地最高的法院为终审法院,其常任和非常任法官制度让政府可从香港或其他普通法司法管辖区拣选经验丰富的退休或现任法官出任终审法院法官。香港司法机构的质素优良,享有崇高的声誉。

根据《基本法》,香港在对外事务方面享有高度自治权。在经济、贸易、金融、航运、通讯、旅游、文化、体育等领域,香港均可以“中国香港”的名义,自行与世界各国各地及有关国际组织保持和发展关系,并签订和履行有关协议。香港亦以“中国香港”的名义,以及以正式成员的身分,自行参加不限于以国家为成员单位的国际组织和国际会议,例如世界贸易组织、世界海关组织和亚太区经济合作组织等。

香港特区政府的代表还以中华人民共和国代表团成员的身分,参加海牙国际私法会议的活动及其他只限于以国家为成员单位的国际组织和国际会议,例如国际货币基金组织和世界知识产权组织。