Home >

Why Hong Kong?

>

>

Introduction

Why Hong Kong?

Introduction


Hong Kong is a centre of innovation in Asia. It is also a centre of commerce, trade, and finance in Asia.
 
Hong Kong is a focal point of the generation of Intellectual Property (“IP”). It is also the focal point for the trading in IP, including technology transfer, licensing, franchising, merchandising and copyright trading.
 
Knowledge driven businesses dominate today’s economies. As innovation and the knowledge based economy become more and more important in trade and commerce, so does Hong Kong’s role as a premier IP trading hub in Asia increase.
 
In 2013, a Working Group on IP Trading was established to strategise the promotion of Hong Kong as an IP trading hub and help the government devise supporting measures. The Working Group has endorsed a Strategic Framework in November 2013, which covers four strategic areas: enhancing the IP protection regime; supporting IP creation and exploitation; fostering IP intermediary services and enhancing manpower capacity; and promotion, education and external collaboration efforts.
 
Vision
The vision of the Framework is to “Position and promote Hong Kong as the premier IP trading hub in Asia”.  This sets out the long term view of what the Government wants to become, both to inspire actions within Government and to communicate with the stakeholders outside.
 
Mission
The Framework sets out the following three missions as high-level representations of what the Government wants and does now to achieve the vision:
 
(a) leverage and further Hong Kong’s advantages in financial, legal and physical infrastructure, IP regime, professional services and specific role as “gateway to Mainland China”, in attracting international IP trading and management activities to take place in Hong Kong;
(b) build up the necessary clusters conducive to the overall development of Hong Kong as a knowledge-based economy that spearheads exploitation and commercialisation of IP and supports enterprises to make the most of IP as a core business asset that should be built, managed, valued and leveraged strategically to drive innovation and growth; and
(c) explore means to promote Hong Kong’s creative industries, innovative technologies and IP economies through IP creation, protection, exploitation, management and trading.
 
For more information about the policy initiatives of IP Trading, please visit here.

香港有什么优势?

简介


香港既是亚洲的创新中心,亦是亚洲的商业、贸易及金融中心。

香港是创造知识产权的热门地点,同时亦汇聚各类知识产权贸易,包括科技转移、授权、特许经营、商品营销及版权贸易。

就现今的经济体系而言,知识型企业占尽优势。随着创新和知识型经济在商贸领域变得愈来愈重要,香港作为亚洲首屈一指的知识产权贸易中心的地位亦不断提升。

2013年,香港特区政府成立知识产权贸易工作小组,为研究推广香港作为知识产权贸易中心的整体策略提供意见,以协助政府制订支持措施。工作小组于2013年11月通过策略框架,涵盖四个范畴:加强知识产权保护制度;支持知识产权的创造和使用;促进知识产权中介服务和提升人力资源;以及致力推广、教育和对外合作。
 

框架把愿景订为「将香港定位并推广为亚洲区首屈一指的知识产权贸易中心」,以奠定长远要达到的目标,作为启发政府内部工作及与外部持份者沟通的基础。

使

框架列明以下三项使命,从高层次表述政府要达成愿景现须开展的工作:

(i)   借助及发挥香港在金融、法律和实体基建、知识产权制度、专业服务,以及作为「中国内地门户」的特定位置等方面的优势,吸引国际知识产权贸易和管理活动在香港进行

(ii)  建立有助香港全面发展为知识型经济体所需的产业社群,带动知识产权的使用和商品化,并支持企业善用知识产权作为核心业务资产,同时策略性地建立、管理、珍惜和使用知识产权,从而带动创新和增长;以

(iii) 探讨各种方法,通过知识产权创造、保护、使用、管理及贸易等途径,推广香港的创意产业、创新科技及知识产权经济。

有关知识产权贸易政策措施的资料,请按此