Home >

Setting up IP businesses

>

>

Registering a business name

Setting up IP businesses

Registering a business name


A business in Hong Kong may register a business name, which is separate to the names of the individuals, or the name of the company that carries on the business.

A business name is the name that a business uses in operation, such as for identifying and promoting itself to its customers.  It can be different from a trade mark used by the business for identifying and promoting products and services offered by the business.

Registering a business name does not guarantee that another person’s registered trade mark will not be infringed, particularly when the business name is the same as or confusingly similar to the registered trade mark and the goods or services offered by the business are also the same or similar to those under the registered trade mark.

In choosing a business name, it is desirable to search other company names through the Companies Registry’s Cyber Search Centre or Company Search Mobile Service, trade marks and domain names to ensure that the name that you select is available, and will not be the same as or likely to be confused with another person’s business name, company name, registered trade mark, or domain name.

This is particularly important if you intend to implement a branding strategy for distinguishing your brand from other existing business names, company names, trade marks or domain names.

Registering a business name does not confer the right to use the same name as a company name, trade mark, or domain name. Each of these that may be sought needs to be registered separately, with separate offices. Click on the following to find out more about registering each respectively: company name; trade mark; domain name

A business name may be in:

  • Chinese only;
  • English only; or
  • bilingual (i.e. both in Chinese and English).

Useful Information:

Differences among Company Registration, Business Registration and Trademark Registration

業務名稱註冊


凡在香港經營業務者,均可將業務名稱註冊,這個名稱獨立於相關人士的姓名或經營有關業務公司的名稱。

業務名稱是經營某項業務時所用的名稱,例如供顧客辨認及作推廣業務之用。這個名稱可以有別於業務為方便顧客辨認和推廣其產品及服務時所用的商標。

業務名稱得以註冊,並不保證不會侵犯他人的註冊商標,尤以業務名稱與註冊商標相同或近似而令人混淆,以及該業務所提供的貨品或服務亦與該註冊商標所涵蓋者相同或近似的情況為然。

在選擇業務名稱時,宜先通過公司註冊處的網上查冊中心公司查冊流動版服務搜尋其他公司名稱,以及搜尋商標域名,以確保所選的名稱可供使用,不會與他人的業務名稱、公司名稱、註冊商標或域名相同或易於令人混淆。

如打算採取品牌策略,使你的品牌有別於其他現有的業務名稱、公司名稱、商標或域名,則上述搜尋工作更形重要。

業務名稱得以註冊,並不賦予申請人使用同一名稱作為公司名稱、商標或域名的權利。如有意取得上述各項註冊,須分別向不同辦事處提出申請。如欲了解每項註冊的資料,請按以下連結:

公司名稱商標域名

業務名稱可以是:

  • 純中文;
  • 純英文;或
  • 雙語(即中英文兼具)。

有用資訊:

公司註冊、商業登記及商標註冊的分別