Home >

Types of IP

>

Trade Secrets And Know-How

>

Relationship to patentable inventions

Relationship to patentable inventions

Types of IP

Relationship to patentable inventions


Until a patentable invention is the subject of a published patent application, it can be protected as a trade secret or as know how.

It is important to protect it as a trade secret or know how up to the stage of the filing of a patent application, since if it becomes public domain knowledge before the filing of the application, novelty is lost, and you become disqualified from being entitled to a patent.

It is also important to continue to protect a patentable invention even after the filing of a patent application. You may for example decide to allow your patent application to lapse and to refile a new application, for example, as a result of further research, or as a result of further data. If between the two applications the patentable invention was not maintained as a trade secret or as know how you become disqualified from being entitled to a patent based on your second application. If your first application has now lapsed, the result is that you have become disqualified from being granted a patent.

It is also important to consider protecting your technology as a trade secret or as know how even after a patent application is filed. This is because it is often the case that in addition to the patentable invention encompassed in the published patent application, you may also have trade secrets or know how associated with the patentable invention.

主頁 >

知識產權類別

>

商業秘密和工業知識

>

與可享專利發明的關係

與可享專利發明的關係

知識產權類別

與可享專利發明的關係


可享專利的發明可當作商業秘密或工業知識加以保護,直至有關發明的專利申請予以發表。

把可享專利發明當作商業秘密或工業知識予以保護,直至遞交專利申請的階段,這點實為重要,因為有關發明倘在申請遞交前已成為公開知識,即告有失新穎,而你會因此而喪失享有專利的資格。

即使專利申請已予遞交,你仍應繼續保護可享專利的發明,這點亦為重要。舉例來說,你可能因進行了進一步研究或蒐集了更多資料而決定讓專利申請失效,並重新遞交申請。假如可享專利的發明在兩次申請其間未有維持作商業秘密或工業知識,就第二份申請而言,你會喪失享有專利的資格。假如你首份申請已告失效,最終結果是你喪失獲批專利的資格。

即使專利申請已予遞交,你仍應考慮把技術當作商業秘密或工業知識保護,這點亦同樣重要,因為常見的情況是,除已發表的專利申請所涵蓋的可享專利發明外,你也可能擁有與可享專利發明關連的商業秘密或工業知識。