Home >

Resources

>

>

Glossary

Resources

Glossary


Copyright

Copyright is the right given to the owner of an original work. This right can subsist in literary works such as books and computer software, musical works such as musical compositions, dramatic works such as plays, artistic works such as drawings, paintings and sculptures, sound recordings, films, broadcasts, cable programmes and the typographical arrangement of published editions of literary, dramatic or musical works, as well as performers' performances. Copyright works made available on the Internet environment are also protected.

Copyright for computer software/system

Copyright for computer software/system refer to the copyright subsisting in computer software/system. Including those which have been created, acquired or licensed for direct production of income or profit in the course of trade or business, excluding the copyright on computer software / system solely for end use.

Designs

A design means features of shape, configuration, pattern or ornament applied to an article by any industrial process, being features which in the finished article appeal to and are judged by the eye, but does not include:

  1. a method or principle of construction; or
  2. features of shape or configuration of an article which -
  1. are dictated solely by the function which the article has to perform; or
  2. are dependent upon the appearance of another article of which the article is intended by the designer to form an integral part.

Enforcement of IP rights

In general, IP rights are protected by the law.  Where there is unlawful violation of IP rights, the IP owners or the government can enforce the IP rights by civil or criminal proceedings for seeking necessary civil relief or criminal sanction, as the case may be.

IP arbitration and mediation

Arbitration is a flexible method of dispute resolution which can provide parties with an efficient, confidential, fair, final and binding resolution. The arbitration is usually conducted in accordance with the terms of the parties' arbitration agreement which is usually found in the provisions of a commercial contract, under which the parties have agreed to submit their disputes to be resolved by an arbitral tribunal composed by arbitrator(s) who is/are independent third party/parties appointed by or on behalf of the parties in dispute.  Arbitral awards is final and binding.

Mediation is a voluntary, confidential, non-binding, private dispute resolution process in which a neutral person, the mediator, helps the parties to reach their own negotiated settlement agreement.

IP buy and sell

It generally refers to business transactions involving sale and purchase of IP.

IP creation

The process of creating intellectual property which may involve researches and development underlying such creation.

IP due diligence

IP due diligence is an exercise where skilled IP practitioners define, examine and analyse the IP portfolio of a target entity to advise on the strength, scope and enforceability of the IP assets to evaluate the value for acquisition.

IP financing

IP financing refers to IP rights being sold, licensed, used as collateral for debt finance.

IP insurance

IP insurance generally refers to the business measure or arrangement under which the insurer, on receipt of either regular or a lump sum of premium, agrees to pay compensation to the insured in certain pre-agreed conditions involving transactions or enforcement of IP rights.  As an example, an insurance policy may help cover all or a portion of the legal costs incurred by the insured for taking enforcement action for IP rights.

IP intermediary

An IP intermediary generally refers to a party or platform that offers and provides one or more intermediary services for an arrangement, activity, task, negotiation, transaction or proceedings which involves addressing and/or resolving an IP issue, such as IP registration, IP arbitration and mediation, IP matching services, IP legal services, IP valuation etc.

IP legal services

Services provided by qualified legal practitioners for addressing or resolving intellectual property issues in contentious or non-contentious matters, including advising on registrability of trademarks and patentability of inventions; drafting legally binding documents for assignment/licensing of IP rights; enforcing IP rights (e.g. commencing IP infringement proceedings); defending claims involving IP rights etc.

IP licensing

IP licensing refers to the process under which an IP owner grants the right to use an IP to another on agreed terms and conditions.

IP litigation

The process of making or defending a claim involving IP rights in court, e.g. infringement or revocation of IP rights.

IP management

The process of identification, acquisition, maintenance, protection, commercialization and enforcement of intellectual property rights.  Such process may involve formulating an IP strategy, and integration of such strategy into the overall business strategy.

IP matching services

IP matching services help IP owners or IP users to identify and screen their potential business partners for IP trading.

IP registration

As far as certain types of IP (such as trade marks, designs and patents) are concerned, they have to be registered for acquiring effective protection in the territory of registration.

IP sub-licensing

IP sub-licensing refers to the grant of the right to use an IP by an IP licensee to another on agreed terms and conditions.

IP valuation

IP valuation is a process to determine the monetary value of an IP.

Layout-design (topography) of integrated circuits

Layout-design (topography) of integrated circuits refers to the 3-dimensional disposition, however expressed, of the elements of an integrated circuit (at least one of which is an active element) and of some or all of the interconnections of an integrated circuit, or such a 3-dimensional disposition prepared for an integrated circuit intended for manufacture.

Patents

A patent protects the inventions by giving the patent owner, a legal right to prevent others from manufacturing, using, selling or importing the patented invention.

Plant variety rights

Plant variety rights are rights granted to plant breeders (or owners of the variety) over cultivated plant varieties they have bred or discovered and developed. 

The procedures for applying for such proprietary rights are set out by the Plant Varieties Protection Ordinance (Cap. 490),which covers all botanical genera and species of vascular plants as well as edible fungi and algae.

Royalty payment

It usually refers to the monetary amount that one pays to an IP owner / sub-licensor for acquiring the right to use the IP on agreed terms and conditions.

Royalty receipt

It usually refers to the monetary amount that an IP owner / sub-licensor receives for granting the right to use the IP right to another on agreed terms and conditions.

Trade secret

Broadly speaking, any confidential business information which provides an enterprise a competitive edge may be considered a trade secret. Trade secrets encompass manufacturing or industrial secrets and commercial secrets. The unauthorized use of such information by persons other than the holder is regarded as an unfair practice and a violation of the trade secret. Depending on the legal system, the protection of trade secrets forms part of the general concept of protection against unfair competition or is based on specific provisions or case law on the protection of confidential information.

The subject matter of trade secrets is usually defined in broad terms and includes sales methods, distribution methods, consumer profiles, advertising strategies, lists of suppliers and clients, and manufacturing processes. While a final determination of what information constitutes a trade secret will depend on the circumstances of each individual case, clearly unfair practices in respect of secret information include industrial or commercial espionage, breach of contract and breach of confidence. (Source: WIPO)

Trade marks

Trade mark is a sign that distinguishes the goods and services of one trader from those of others. Typically a trade mark can be words (including personal names), indications, designs, letters, characters, numerals, figurative elements, colours, sounds, smells, the shape of the goods or their packaging or any combination of these. A sign must be capable of being represented graphically in order for it to be registered as a trade mark.

主頁 >

資源

>

>

辭彙表

資源

辭彙表


版權 (Copyright)

版權是賦予原創作品擁有人的權利,可以存在於文學作品(如書籍及電腦軟件)、音樂作品(如創作樂曲)、戲劇作品(如舞台劇)、藝術作品(如繪畫、髹掃畫及雕塑品)、聲音紀錄、影片、廣播、有線傳播節目和文學、戲劇及音樂作品已發表版本的排印編排,以及表演者的演出等。互聯網傳送的版權作品,也受保護。

電腦軟件/系統版權 (Copyright for computer software/system)

電腦軟件/系統版權是指電腦軟件/系統中的版權。包括用於貿易或商業業務上而產生收入或利潤所創造、得到或獲得特許使用的電腦軟件/系統的版權,並不包括為終端使用而獲取的電腦軟件/系統的版權。

外觀設計 (Designs)

外觀設計是指藉任何工業程序而應用於某物品的形狀、構形、式樣或裝飾的特色,而該等特色是在經製成的物品上的吸引視線和肉眼可判別的特色,但並不包括:

  1. 任何構造的方法或原理;或
  2. 任何物品的形狀或構形的特色,而該等特色 -
  1. 純粹受該物品所須發揮的功能支配;或
  2.  取決於另一物品的外觀,而該物品是設計人擬將其與該另一物品合成一整體的。

執行知識産權權利 (Enforcement of IP rights)

一般而言,知識産權權利是受法律保護的。當知識産權權利被非法侵犯,知識産權擁有人或政府可視乎情況提出民事或刑事訴訟以執行該知識産權權利,並尋求所需的民事濟助或刑事制裁。

知識產權仲裁及調解 (IP arbitration and mediation)

仲裁是一種靈活的解决爭議的方式,高效、保密、公平,結果是終局的並具法律約束力。仲裁一般是依照當事人之間的仲裁協議(常訂在商事合同中)進行,即各方已同意將其爭議交由仲裁庭裁决;仲裁庭由當事人指定的或代其指定的獨立的第三人組成;仲裁裁决是終局的,並具約束力。

調解是一個自願、機密、非約束性私下解決爭議的程序,其中由一位中立人士 - 調解員協助雙方達成協商的協議。調解員無權強行要求解決爭議,其作用是打破僵局,鼓勵當事各方友好和解。

知識產權買賣 (IP buy and sell)

一般是指涉及知識産權買賣的商業交易活動。

知識產權創造 (IP creation)

指創造知識産權的過程,當中可能涉及該知識産權的研究開發。

知識産權盡職調查 (IP due diligence)

知識産權盡職調查是由富經驗的知識産權業界人士對特定的知識産權組合作定義、檢查及分析後,對知識産權資產的優勢、範圍及法律的可執行性提供意見,及評估其收購價值。

知識産權融資 (IP financing)

知識産權融資是指透過出售、授權及使用知識産權作抵押品而取得貸款。

知識産權保險 (IP insurance)

知識産權保險一般是指承保人的業務措施或安排,即承保人同意,在收到定期的或一次付款的總額保險費後,向受保人在預先同意的條款下就有關知識產權的交易或執行提供賠償金。

知識産權中介服務機構 (IP intermediary)

知識産權中介服務機構是指提供一種或多種知識産權中介服務的一方或平台,包括知識產權相關的協定、活動、工作、談判、交易或訴訟,如知識産權註冊、知識產權仲裁及調解、知識產權配對服務、知識產權法律服務及知識產權估值等。

知識産權法律服務 (IP legal services)

由合資格的法律業界人士就探討及解決爭議性或非爭議性的知識産權問題所提供的服務,包括就商標的可註冊性及發明是否可享專利提供意見; 撰寫具法律效力的知識産權轉讓或特許的文件; 執行知識産權的權利 (如展開知識産權的侵權訴訟) 及就知識産權的相關索償作抗辯等。

知識產權授權 (IP licensing)

知識産權授權是知識産權擁有人允許他人或機構在雙方同意的條款下使用該知識産權。

知識産權訴訟 (IP litigation)

於法庭提出或抗辯知識産權相關的索償的程序, 如知識産權的侵權或撤銷。

知識產權管理 (IP management)

指知識産權的鑑定、收購、維持、保護、商品化及執行知識産權權利的過程。過程中可能包括知識産權策略的制定及將該策略融入整體的商業策略中。

知識產權配對服務 (IP matching services)

知識産權配對服務是為知識産權擁有人或使用者物色及篩選具潛質進行知識産權貿易的合作夥伴。

知識產權註冊 (IP registration)

就某些種類的知識産權(如商標、外觀設計及專利)而言,它們需通過註冊方可在其註冊的地域獲得有效的保護。

知識産權再授授權 (IP sub-licensing)

知識産權再授授權是指獲知識産權特許持有人根據議定的條款授權使用有關的知識産權。

知識產權估值 (IP valuation)

知識產權估值是決定知識產權的幣值的過程。

集成電路的布圖設計(拓樸圖) (Layout-design [topography] of integrated circuits)

集成電路的布圖設計(拓樸圖)是指集成電路中多個元件(其中至少有一個是有源元件),和其部分或全部集成電路互連的三維配置,或者是指為集成電路的製造而準備的這樣的三維配置。

專利 (Patents)

專利擁有人可行使專利賦予的法律權利,禁止他人製造、使用、出售或輸入該專利發明,從而保護有關的發明。

植物品種權利 (Plant variety rights)

植物品種權利是授予植物育種者(或植物品種擁有人) 的權利,藉以保障其培育或發現並發展的栽種植物品種。《植物品種保護條例》(第490章)設立了申請此等專利權的程序,涵蓋所有維管植物的屬種及可食用真菌和藻類。

支付知識産權使用費的款項 (Royalty payment)

一般指某方根據議定的條款為獲得特許使用某項的知識産權向有關的知識産權擁有人/再授特許人支付的金額。

屬知識産權使用費的收入 (Royalty receipt)

一般指知識産權擁有人/再授特許人根據議定的條款特許他人使用有關的知識産權而獲得的金額。

商業秘密 (Trade secret)

廣義地說,構成一個企業競爭優勢的任何機密的商業資訊都可以被認為是商業秘密。商業秘密包含製造或工業秘密和商業秘密。除持有人以外的任何人未經許可使用這些資訊都將被認為是一種不公平的行為和侵犯了商業秘密。取決於法律制度,商業秘密的保護構成了反不正當競爭總概念的一部分,或是建立在保護機密資訊的特定的規定或案例法基礎上。

商業秘密的主題通常被定義得比較寬泛,包括銷售方法,分銷方法,消費者特徵,廣告策略,供應商和客戶名單,以及製造方法。雖然哪些資訊構成商業秘密的最終確定將取決於每個個案的情況,但關於秘密資訊的明顯不公平行為包括工業或商業間諜,合同的違約和洩密。(資料來源:世界知識產權組織)

商標 (Trade marks)

商標是一個標誌,用以識別不同商戶的貨品和服務。商標可以由文字(包括個人姓名)、徵示、設計式樣、字母、字樣、數字、圖形要素、顏色、聲音、氣味、貨品的形狀或其包裝,以及上述標誌的任何組合所構成。能夠藉書寫或繪圖方式表述的標記,才可以註冊為商標。