Home >

Types of IP

>

Trade marks

>

Trade mark registration steps

Trade mark registration steps

Types of IP

Trade mark registration steps


For the benefits of a registered trade mark , an application for registration must be made to the Trade Marks Registry, Intellectual Property Department, the Government of the Hong Kong SAR.

An application to register a trade mark can be made online or it can be filed physically with the Trade Marks Registry, Intellectual Property Department, the Government of the Hong Kong SAR.

A trade mark can only be registered if it is already in use or if there is an intention to use the trade mark. If a registered trade mark is not used for a continuous period of at least 3 years in Hong Kong by the owner or with his consent, it may be revoked on the ground of non-use.

After filing, the application will be examined by the Trade Marks Registry to assess if it complies with the Trade Marks Ordinance (Cap. 559) and the Trade Marks Rules (Cap. 559A); and to ensure that the trade mark you seek to register is not identical or confusingly similar to an already registered trade mark in relation to identical or similar goods or services for which the application for registration is made. 

If the Intellectual Property Department of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR objects to the registration of your trade mark (for example, due to conflict with earlier trade marks), your options are to overcome the objection, seek to register an alternative trade mark, or have the objection considered at a hearing.

Once your trade mark has been accepted for registration, it will be published in the Hong Kong Intellectual Property Journal. Third parties may oppose your trade mark being registered, for example, because they own a similar trade mark. If the registration of your trade mark is opposed, the matter will be determined by a hearing officer.

If there is no opposition, or the opposition is withdrawn or decided in favour of the trade mark applicant, the trade mark is then registered and the applicant will be issued a certificate of registration for the trade mark.

Registering a trade mark does not confer the right to use the same name as a business name, company name, or domain name. Trade mark registration is different from company registration, business registration, and domain name registration.  Each of them serves a different purpose, and the application to register each of them needs to be made separately with the relevant government offices or organisations. Click on the following to find out more about company registration, business registration and domain name .

Useful Information:

Application process for registration of trade marks in Hong Kong

How to apply to register a trade mark in Hong Kong

Trade Marks Forms and Fees (Cap. 559) (For applications filed on or after 4.4.2003) 

Trade Marks Forms and Fees (Cap. 43) (For applications filed before 4.4.2003)

主頁 >

知識產權類別

>

商標

>

商標註冊程序

商標註冊程序

知識產權類別

商標註冊程序


為獲得 註冊商標 的種種利益 , 註冊申請人必須向香港特區政府知識產權署,轄下商標註冊處提出註冊申請。

申請人可在網上申請商標註冊,又或親身向香港特區政府知識產權署轄下商標註冊處提交申請。

申請人只可在已經使用或打算使用商標的情況下將商標註冊。如註冊商標的擁有人在一段至少三年的連續期間內沒有在香港使用該商標,而該商標亦沒有在擁有人的同意下在香港使用,有關商標可能以不予使用為理由而遭撤銷註冊。

申請人提交申請後,商標註冊處會審查有關申請,以評估該申請是否符合《商標條例》(第559章)及《商標規則》(第559A章)的規定,並確保申請註冊的商標不會因與於相同或相類似的貨品或服務已註冊的商標相同或相類似而產生混淆。

如香港特區政府知識產權署對申請人的商標註冊提出異議(例如因抵觸已註冊的在先商標),申請人可選擇克服有關異議、申請註冊另一商標、或就有關異議要求進行聆訊。

當商標註冊申請獲接納後,該項註冊申請會登載於香港知識產權公報。第三者可就該項註冊申請提出反對(例如以擁有相類似商標為理由提出反對)。如有人就商標註冊申請提出反對,有關事宜會由聆訊人員裁定。

如無反對,或反對被撤回或商標申請人獲判勝訴,該商標便可予以註冊,而申請人將獲發該商標的註冊證明書。

商標獲准註冊並不表示申請人獲授權使用同一名稱作為業務名稱、公司名稱或域名。商標註冊有別於公司註冊、商業登記及域名註冊,四者作用各異,而申請人需分別向相關的政府辦事處或機構提出有關註冊申請。如欲了解公司註冊商業登記域名 的詳情,請按以上有關連結。

相關資訊:

申請程序

怎樣在香港申請商標註冊

商標申請表格及費用(第559章) (適用於2003年4月4日或之後提交的註冊申請)

商標申請表格及費用 (第43章) (適用於2003年4月4日前提交的註冊申請)