Home >

Trading IP

>

>

Valuing IP

Trading IP

Valuing IP


Valuing IP is a critical part of any IP assignment or licence, or start-up company transaction.

An assignor or licensor or technology owner does not want to receive less than what the IP is worth. Correspondingly, the assignee, licensee or investor into technology does not want to pay more for the IP than what the IP is worth.

Both parties want the financial terms of their IP trading transaction to accord with the value of the IP.

There are three basic valuation approaches or methodologies:

1.       Cost based (Historical Cost)

2.       Market based (Replacement Cost, Industry Standards, Comparables Analysis)

3.       Income based (Discounted Cash Flow)

These approaches are described below.

Historical cost is a methodology intended to ascertain what the actual cost has been to bring the IP into existence. It is therefore not strictly a valuation methodology, since the cost of creating the IP bears no relationship to its value. Its value may be less than its historical cost, or, it is hoped, its value may be greater than that. Nevertheless, valuing the historical cost can be an important decision making tool.

Replacement cost is a methodology similar to historical cost, but this time, rather than valuing the actual cost of bringing IP into existence, instead the cost of recreating the IP is assessed. This can be a useful cost to ascertain, since if the replacement cost is less than its market value, an assignee or licensee may prefer to recreate the IP, rather than to pay the market value. Of course, doing so is subject to considering the advantage of having the IP immediately, rather than waiting for the time to recreate it, and it is also subject to the ability to recreate it without infringing the original IP.

Industry Standards value IP by reference to what the market has determined to be a “standard value” for IP. For example, the royalty rate paid for

·        a new compound at late pre-clinical stage of development

·        a musical composition

·        a novel

·        a merchandising licence

·        a franchising licence

all lie with certain parameters established by the market, and it would be unusual for the royalty rate to exceed, or to be lower than those industry standards parameters.

Comparables analysis is a methodology that identifies comparable IP transactions, ascertains the financial terms of those transactions, and compares the subject of those transactions to the IP to be valued. The closer the similarity between the comparable IP, and the IP to be valued, the more persuasive the financial terms of the comparable transaction are, as an indicator of the value of the IP being valued. Correspondingly, the less similar the IP is to be IP to be valued, the less persuasive those financial terms are as an indicator of the value of the IP being valued. This methodology is most used for valuing royalties.

Discounted cash flow analysis values IP from the premise that the value of IP is related to the earnings that the products derived from the IP will generate over time. It looks at the profit that the products derived from the IP will earn over the remaining life of the IP, such as the unexpired term of a patent, multiplies the answer by a discount rate to take into account the present value of future earnings, factors in probability factors, to arrive at a lump sum value of the IP. This methodology can be used for valuing IP as a lump sum amount, as well as royalties.

 

Useful information:

1. "Intellectual Property Valuation Reporting Standard" published by the Hong Kong Business Valuation Forum.

2. This guidance note “Valuation of Intellectual Property Rights” published by the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) is to clarify the legal, functional and economic characteristics of IP that should be considered and reported on in an IP valuation. For non-members of the RICS, please click here for more information

3. This booklet contains an excellent checklist to help value IP, as well as providing more information on IP valuation methodologies. (Source: Intellectual Property Office, United Kingdom)

4. The World Intellectual Property Organization publishes a number of excellent papers on IP valuation. (Source: WIPO)

主頁 >

知識產權貿易

>

>

知識產權估值

知識產權貿易

知識產權估值


在知識產權的轉讓或授權中,又或在創業公司的交易中,知識產權的估值極為重要。

知識產權的轉讓人、授權人或技術擁有人不會願意接受低於其知識產權價值的出價;承讓人、獲授權人或技術投資者亦同樣不願付出高於有關知識產權價值的金額。

雙方均希望知識產權交易的財務條款與該知識產權的價值相稱。

現時有三種基本估值模式或方法:

1.     以成本為本(過往成本)

2.     以市場為本(再造成本、業界標準、比較數據分析)

3.     以收益為本(貼現現金流).

有關方法詳述如下。

過往成本是一種計算方法以確定產生知識產權的實際成本。由於創造知識產權的成本與其價值並無關係,嚴格而言,過往成本並非一種估值方法。知識產權的價值可能低於過往成本,或如期望般高於過往成本。無論如何,評估過往成本是一項重要的決策工具。

再造成本近似過往成本的計算方法,但並非評估產生知識產權的實際成本,而是評估再創造該知識產權的成本。如再造成本低於市場價值,承讓人或獲授權人可能選擇再創造該知識產權,而不支付市場價值,因此確定再造成本十分有用。當然,支付市價的好處是無須花時間等待再創造而可即時擁有知識產權,亦可衡量是否有能力在不侵犯原有知識產權的情況下再創造知識產權。

業界標準是參考市場已定的“標準價值”為知識產權估價,例如下列項目的使用費:     

·       一種處於後期臨床前開發階段的新化合物

·       一首樂曲

·       一本小說

·       一項商品授權

·       一項特許經營

上述項目的使用費全部均基於市場若干既定的參數釐定,故使用費高於或低於業界標準參數的情況並不常見。

比較數據分析的方法是找出可予比較的知識產權交易,並確定有關交易的財務條款,然後把有關交易的知識產權與接受估值的知識產權進行比較。用以比較的知識產權與接受估值的知識產權兩者愈相近,把用作比較的交易的財務條款作為受估值知識產權的價值指標便愈具說服力。同樣,兩者愈不相近,將有關財務條款作為受估值知識產權估價指標的說服力便愈低。這種方法最常用於評估使用費。 

貼現現金流分析所作的知識產權估值,是將知識產權的價值與產品得自知識產權的長期收益掛鈎。這種方法着眼於有關產品在知識產權剩餘的壽命(例如專利期屆滿前)得自該知識產權的收益,再乘以一個折扣率,以計及日後收益的現值,並且計入概率因素,從而得出知識產權的總價值。這方法可用於評估知識產權的總價值及使用費。

 

相關資訊:

1. 香港商業估值議會公佈之「知識產權估值匯報準則」(只有英文版)。

2. 皇家特許測量師學會公佈之「知識產權估值」指引(只有英文版),說明在知識產權估值中應如何考慮及紀錄知識產權的法律、功能及經濟特性。如非皇家特許測量師學會會員,請按此查看詳情(只有英文版)。

3. 這本小冊子(只有英文版)載有一個極好的核對表,有助評估知識產權的價值,還有各種知識產權估值方法的更詳盡資料。(資料來源:英國知識產權局)

4. 世界知識產權組織出版了多份關於知識產權估值的有用文件 (只有英文版)。(資料來源:世界知識產權組織)